Guildford – Office Acquisition:
Janice Moores of Tilney Ltd. - September 2019

We met James a few years ago when looking for offices in Fareham. Since then, we had a need for space in Guildford and therefore we briefed him on our requirements and time-frame. A short list was drawn up, we inspected a few, opened negotiations but could not get our space planners to fit us into the suite. So, James started all over again, and finally we settled on an open-plan suite in Cathedral Square, and being a new development it met all our requirements including parking. This was not the quickest transaction but we reached a conclusion in April, for which we are enormously grateful for James’s determination and attention to detail during the lengthy negotiations. I may have another project for you shortly.

Successful Sale of Offices in Christchurch
Private Investor - July 2019

I instructed James Scott of Southampton based Newton Scott to sell our two storey office premises on the Silver Business Park. The unit was extensively upgraded throughout and until recently had been used as a Call Centre. Marketing got underway and an acceptable offer was shortly agreed, but we were to be led a merry dance by an over optimistic purchaser. To help solve an impasse James went the extra mile by paying for both the EPC and Asbestos Surveys – to no avail, as it turned out. The purchasers pulled out and James had to start the marketing all over again! In fairness to James, he then found a cash purchaser in double quick time and a conclusion was reached within six weeks, this July. All in all, a lengthier process than expected – but I was glad I had James on my side!

Bedford Place Letting
Private Investor - June 2019

I have instructed James Scott of Newton Scott in the past and having bought a retail and residential building in ever-popular Bedford Place I contacted James to see if he could help. We agreed the quoting terms and marketing campaign, and within short time had several viewings and a number of offers - some cheeky, some far more realistic! James recommended I proceed with a Micro-Brewery as he’d dealt with them before in Shirley (they also successfully trade from Jewry Street, in Winchester). Their offer was at the asking terms subject only to planning which they secured in July. Finally, just to add, I always appreciate good and prompt communication from yourself. You have provided me 2 good tenants so far! So, thank you James, again.

Chandlers Ford – Office Lease Renewal
Private Investor - May 2019

I asked James to handle this as he originally let the space to the tenants. They wanted to stay put, agreed to take a new lease, we conceded to the usual break clause at the end of the third year, but importantly accepted a more up-to-date rent at £12.75 per square foot. So, all in all, a good result reflecting a 27.5% increase.

Rent Review Negotiations
London based management company - May 2019

Clients of mine recently acquired at auction a corner building in Hedge End, a prosperous suburb of Southampton, where the retail tenant was Barclays Bank. I contacted several agents locally but was persuaded that Newton Scott would be a wise choice. Negotiations started just before Christmas (2018) and an agreement was finally reached in April - not a bad outcome in both time and rental uplift terms (just under 10% in 3 years). The principal, James Scott, is diligent and terrier-like (he has got one!), and was good at keeping me briefed, too. Pleased with the results.

Retail Letting – Shirley
Private Investor - April 2019

We have owned this shop for many years and indeed James let it to the last occupiers, a butcher. When we needed a new tenant we turned to James again. We had a few possible occupiers but needed to assess who was our best bet. The marketing campaign was launched, several inspections carried out, and a decision reached. The lawyers made life a bit tortuous but finally we had a new tenant and a new income stream which is what we bought the building for. James is not the youngest in the “beauty parade” - but his local knowledge, experience and importantly his ability to see a deal through to completion is why we go to him.

Leasing of Office Space in Christchurch
James Pike, Cookes Furniture - April 2019

We sold our adjoining industrial units (3&4 Silver Business Park) via Hughes Ellard and Newton Scott a couple of years ago, although it was James at Newton Scott who introduced the purchaser. We remained in partial occupation, resulting in there being some surplus office space to lease. We turned to James who, in challenging market conditions, introduced new tenants for two separate suites, the last being handled from start to finish within three months! We aim to keep in touch as he’s been a useful contact in a demanding climate!

Sale of Substantial Industrial Unit in Romsey
James Cooper, Albert Jagger Ltd. - November 2018

Newton Scott acquired these premises on Budds Lane in Romsey for us several years ago and when it was decided to sell we contacted James to help. We subsequently gave him instructions to market the freehold, and can only thank him for the time and effort put into the challenge. It was not an easy project but we secured a good level of interest and an excellent price – I couldn’t ask for more!

Southampton – 24 Oxford Street
Agents acting on behalf of Receivers - October 2018

Many many thanks for your hard work on this one, as without your determination I very much doubt we would have got anywhere on the sale.

Southampton – 11 College Place – Office Lettings
Treasurer, The Samaritans in Southampton - October 2018

I contacted James as one of several local agents to help us find new occupiers for offices in central Southampton. We hadn’t dealt with James before but he inspected, reported and in a few weeks had occupiers for both suites. If only it was as easy as that in all cases ...........!

Southampton – Leisure Investment Acquisition
Private Investor - September 2018

Knowing that an established Pub in Shirley was going to come to the market, I asked James to assist and advise in the acquisition process. The outcome took far longer than any of us expected, least of all James, but he kept at it and finally we reached a conclusion. Delighted with the result, too.

Chandlers Ford – New Letting
Private Investor - August 2018

I have known James for years and he always helps with my property matters. In this case I had a tenant who wanted to relocate so called James in to fill the shortly to be vacated unit. James found a new occupier, did the required checks and balances, and agreed terms better than I had expected – but that’s what I pay him for!

Winchester – Office Investment Acquisition
Private Investor - June 2018

Delighted with the outcome. Cannot believe how long it took but without your “terrier instincts” I doubt we’d have reached a conclusion – many thanks, James.

Romsey – Small Industrial Unit Leased
London Based Agents for Management Company - May 2018

Newton Scott was appointed by clients of London based management company to find a new occupier for this 2,365 sf unit. It had all the usual facilities but was fairly basic, and as such we were pleased with the outcome, securing £11,000 pa on a new lease. We will keep in touch.

Eastleigh – Office Letting
Existing tenant - August 2017

I forget how I came across Newton Scott but they had been involved with a few lettings on Pirelli Way so gave them a call. Agreed the marketing program and in pretty quick time a new occupier was identified, terms agreed and they’d moved in. Couldn’t ask for more – and his fee terms were the best offered, too!

Romsey – Office Letting: Love Lane, Romsey
Private investor - June 2017

We acquired this modern, two-storey office building from James several years ago, and despite first letting it the tenants merged with another organisation, resulting in them not needing their space any further. James got on with the marketing and identified a local firm of Accountants to take a new lease on the entire building. Thanks James - good result.

Leasing Of Romsey Office/Warehouse Building
Private investor - June 2017

We appointed James to find a new occupier for this unit on the popular Premier Centre, Abbey Park Industrial Estate in Romsey. The first possible tenants decided not to proceed but James’s second runner was far keener and swiftly completed a new five-year lease, paying a market rent. Great outcome and transacted rapidly.

Basingstoke – Multi–Let Industrial Investment Acquisition
Petchey Industrial Properties Ltd. - June 2017

James introduced this multi-let industrial investment and we acquired it, having previously done business with the vendor. Petchey Industrial Properties Ltd.

Poole – Freehold Industrial Unit Acquisition
Maritime Archaeology Sea Trust - February 2017

We approached a number of commercial property agents but James ultimately did a great job! He was patient, a good listener, and knowledgeable of his market. We were offered a selection of possibilities but at the end of the day, we settled on a freehold unit on the Nuffield Industrial Estate, in Poole. We completed in February 2017.

Office Letting In Woolston, Southampton
Private Investor - February 2017

We have known James for many years and he often comes to our aid. On this occasion, we needed a new occupier for a ground floor office unit in Bridge Road, Woolston. James found a long established firm of florists who took a new six-year lease. We were prepared to go the Residential route but James proved that wasn’t necessary!

Letting Of Former Florists In St Denys, Southampton
Private Investor - June 2016

We secured a successful aquatics (freshwater fish) operator to lease our former florist premises. The new occupiers took a 10-year lease at an averaged rent of £11,400 pa. Good result.

Sale Of Long Leasehold Investments – Brunel Gate, Andover
Private Investor - April 2016

We instructed James to find a purchaser for these four units in Andover. Every challenge possible arose but with James’s help we finally saw completion to a London based investor.

Marketing Of Small Retail Unit In Bitterne, Southampton
Private Investor - March 2016

Newton Scott let a small retail unit for us but it was not the easiest or quickest due to market conditions. We ended up with a new six-year lease to a Vape retailer paying £16,000 pa., but with incentives initially.

Romsey – Sale Of Car Park
Private Investor - February 2016

We instructed Newton Scott to value our freehold car parking land and then to carry out a sale. We secured £75,000 for the site - which became a car sales compound having secured prior planning approval.

Office Relocation: Auckland Rd., So’ton
Threshold Mortgages Ltd. - November 2015

We asked James to keep an eye out for suitable offices in and around central Southampton – about 2,500 / 3,000 square feet. We inspected several but ended up agreeing to terms on new, fully refurbished space in Millbrook having good on-site parking. Pleased with the outcome which was handled efficiently, professionally and in good time.

Gosport – 8/16 & 17a & 17b High Street
Max Hunter – Maritime Capital. - April 2015

This project was also introduced to us via James Scott of Newton Scott. It comprised 13 different well-located retail units with vacant offices above and future development potential. The rental income totalled £255,382 pa. We acquired the freehold interest in May 2015 for £2.4 million in this “Off Market” transaction. Nice one, James! Onto the next, please.

Romsey – The Hundred – Retail Letting
Private Investor - October 2014

A full marketing campaign produced an excellent tenant and a good lease/ rent. The premises were located on the first and second floors and I secured a new six-year lease and a rent of just under £9,000 pa., plus deposit. I was pleased with the outcome and excellent, regular marketing updates, a subject I hate having to chase – so no complaints there!

Salisbury – Milford House, Milford Street – Acquisition For Development
Ross Moyler, Store Properties Ltd. - October 2014

The premises were introduced to us by James and within the short time we had inspected, agreed to terms and exchanged contracts. This was primarily an "Off Market" transaction but we had access to the vendor's managing agents which generally helped speed the DD process. More please, James.

Winchester Road, Bassett, Southampton – Two Retail Units
Bassett Homes & Accessories - June 2014

James managed to find new tenants for both our former retail units in Bassett and the timing was excellent. The entire exercise was handled well, and he provided regular marketing updates. He kept in regular contact with both side's solicitors to ensure all went smoothly and without the usual delays and communication hold-ups.

Romsey – Sale Of Vacant Freehold Offices
Sozo Ministries International. - May 2014

We commissioned James to sell our well-appointed office building in Romsey, jointly with Goadsby. We achieved an excellent price and were more than pleased with the outcome.

Southampton – Sale Of Office Investment With PD Rights, Kilgraston House
London based Investor - May 2014

James was appointed to act jointly with BNP Paribas and was instrumental in ensuring the transaction reached its desired conclusion. A good price was achieved, so a successful outcome.

Southampton – Middle Road, Park Gate
Private Investor - April 2014

After a challenging marketing period, James agreed on terms with local A3 User to lease our retail unit for a term of ten years at an initial rent of £16,000 pa. Delighted with the eventual outcome.

Solicitors Based In Southampton And Romsey, Appointed Us To Advise Them On A Rent Review Due In December 2005
Ken Flookes, Partner of Footners, Southampton - November 2005

We inspected the accommodation, measured it, assembled comparable local rental evidence to support our views, and advised our clients accordingly. The outcome was that our clients agreed to acceptable terms that reflected a double-figure percentage reduction. “James’s long-standing and intimate knowledge of the office rental market in central Southampton, added to his excellent contacts, resulted in a swift and satisfactory conclusion to these negotiations.
Search
Price
Amenities
Facilities

Compare listings

Compare